Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Craziest Things Done - Testing Limits!
cye84
Vagabond
Post Craziest Things Done - Testing Limits!
on: March 1, 2014, 01:05

I have been playing this game since 1995 and it has never failed to entertain me (and learning something new every time I play) for almost 20 years!

Over the years, I have been trying to do crazy missions (self-set missions) to challenge myself:

(a) Duke of the Home Deliveries
I'm currently playing Joao. It's 31st December 1523 and I have been sailing for more than 1.5 years. Total trade points? 35000. Targeted aim? 50,000 trade points.

Percentage of map explored: 0%
Number of ports invested in: 0%
Number of trade routes adopted: 0%

What have I been doing?
Going to the Guild and getting "Buy goods missions".

Very early in the game, one of the fastest ways of raising capital is by doing missions from the Guild.

At the start of the game, there are a variety of missions:
- Buy goods
- Transport goods
- Deliver letter
- Defeat pirate
- Collect Debt

At the start of the game, unless you're Otto, it's hard to defeat pirates with that tiny ship you have. Besides, there are not that many pirates around except our dear Idin Leis and Khyar Al-Din who are trying to kill poor, defenceless you. It would give you battle points and some cash, but you'll probably die in the process.

-Collect Debt. It's fun. You go around the world to find the person who owes the Marco Polo bank money. You find him, if you don't treat him, he might run. Sometimes, he runs anyway. I can't remember how much adventure points you'll get but it's long and tiresome.

-Deliver letter - to some far flung part of the world for 500 gold pieces? Forget it

- Transport goods - you might be tempted to sell it off.